Tuesday, June 30, 2009

In the moment

20090630 (1) (Small)

20090630 (2) (Small)

20090630 (Small)

I sometimes wish I could be "in the moment" more. Be more mindful, notice things better. But I just don't most of the time. My mind is like that water. Always moving.

Saturday, June 27, 2009

In the garden

20090627 (1) (Small)

20090627 (Small)

20090627 (2) (Small)

20090627 (3) (Small)
Bloemen

20090627 (4) (Small)

20090627 (5) (Small)
Onkruid

20090627 (6) (Small)

20090627 (7) (Small)

20090627 (8) (Small)

En gezelschap.

Friday, June 26, 2009

Green and gold


I knit a scarf in two shades of green. Just simple garter stitch.


Of course I wanted a matching hat. So I knit another one of my Soulemama's favorite pattern. I think it;s the seventh I made, but I lost count. I still love making it.


I still have a lot of that green yarn left, so I started a shawl again. This time I am following the pattern I saw at soulemama's and I do hope this one will turn out better than the blue one.


And then I'm going to decide what to make with this beautiful yarn I just bought. I love it!

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Through the roof

20090625 (Small)

I really need to do something about that now...

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

Thrifted treasures


I read the best excuse in a comment at Soulemama's: "oh, but buttons are so small and fabrics are flat, you can always buy those."
So I did.

Monday, June 22, 2009

In the garden

20090622 (2) (Small)

20090622 (1) (Small)


20090622 (Small)

An apron


This vintage fabric just begged to be an apron. Or at least I thought so. I kept it simple, just straight lines, but I like the result.


Thursday, June 18, 2009

Passed!


They were so scared they flunked after all. I wasn't and of course they didn't. Two bags on the flag, wow!
(that's custom here when you pass your highschool exams)



Wednesday, June 17, 2009

A quilt


I finally finished the quilttop that has been lying around for nine months or so...




I just quilted near the ditch. I do like how that turned out.
The borders are from a thrifted cotton sheet, the back from a flanel sheet. The quilt top was made from thrifted vintage pillow cases and the filling is an old molton.
It's so cosy and warm!

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Canning

20090616 (1) (Small)

My tiny garden doesn't get us surplus to save for winter. So I try to make do with veggies that are cheap now in the stores. Still gives me that feeling of self sufficiency that I'm longing for ;-)

Geraniums

20090615 (3) (Small)

20090615 (4) (Small)

20090615 (Small)

Monday, June 15, 2009

A tiny patch

20090615 (2) (Small)

But still : home grown strawberries!

20090615 (1) (Small)

Friday, June 12, 2009

Thursday, June 11, 2009

A blue shawl


Well, it looks okay from a distance, but it's not. It's scratchy (synthetic yarn), there is a slight color difference (thrifted yarn) and it's too small.
Still, it was fun to knit and watch it grow. Let's try that again with better (and more) yarn.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

A little quilt block


Just experimenting. I do like making these  (log cabin)

Monday, June 8, 2009

Friday, June 5, 2009

Thursday, June 4, 2009

In my knitting basket


Working on

:: a blue shawl (inspired by Soulemama's)

::  a scarf in two shades of green

:: socks (light blue)

::a hat (brown)

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Honeysuckle

20090603 (Small)

(yes, it's growing through the roof. I need to do something about that soon)

Tuesday, June 2, 2009